The Wipers Times

July 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
Around the World in 80 Days Around the World in 80 Days & Twelfth Night
26
Around the World in 80 Days Around the World in 80 Days & Twelfth Night
27
Around the World in 80 Days Around the World in 80 Days & Twelfth Night
28
Around the World in 80 Days Around the World in 80 Days & Twelfth Night
29
Around the World in 80 Days Around the World in 80 Days & Twelfth Night
30
Twelfth Night
Become a Member

Ian Hislop and Nick Newman’s The Wipers Times tells the extraordinary true story of the satirical newspaper created in the mud and mayhem of the Somme.

In a bombed out building during the first world war in the Belgian town of Ypres (mis-pronounced ‘Wipers’ by British Soldiers),two officers discover a printing press and decide to create a newspaper.

Defying both authority and gas attacks, it proves a huge success with the troops on the western front.

Duration: 2 hours 10mins with interval

  • Mon 18 Sep 7:30 PM £15 to £35.50 Members' discount 25% off
  • Tue 19 Sep 7:30 PM £15 to £35.50 - followed by Q&A with Ian Hislop
  • Wed 20 Sep 7:30 PM £15 to £35.50
  • Thu 21 Sep 2:30 PM £15 to £32.50
  • Thu 21 Sep 7:30 PM £15 to £37.50
  • Fri 22 Sep 8:00 PM £15 to £37.50
  • Sat 23 Sep 2:30 PM £15 to £35.50 - Members' discount 25% off
  • Sat 23 Sep 7:30 PM £15 to £37.50

Book Tickets

  • Mon 18 September 7:30 PM
  • Tue 19 September 7:30 PM
  • Wed 20 September 7:30 PM
  • Thu 21 September 2:30 PM
  • Thu 21 September 7:30 PM
  • Fri 22 September 8:00 PM
  • Sat 23 September 2:30 PM

A Trademark Touring and Watermill Theatre production.

The performance on Tue 19 Sept will be followed by a Q&A with Ian Hislop

This performance is sponsored by HMG Law

  • A laugh a minute
       
    Mail on Sunday
  • Remarkable forerunner to Private Eye.
       
    Daily Telegraph

People Who Booked The Wipers Times Also Booked For...

  • Twelfth Night

    Tue 25 Jul - Sun 30 Jul, Tue 1 - Fri 4 Aug

    Firmly established as a cultural highlight of Oxford’s summer, Oxford Playhouse and the Bodleian Library are delighted to present one of Shakespeare’s finest comedies performed in the stunning outdoor setting of the Old Schools Quadrangle. This year we welcome The Watermill Theatre’s 50th anniversary production of Twelfth Night, directed by Paul Hart (Propeller). Set in the 1920s with...

  • Bring on the Bollywood

    Tue 15 - Sat 19 Aug

    New and old collide in this colourful comedy, full of intertwined love stories, dazzling dance and a sensational soundtrack. Bring on the Bollywood takes a love story inspired by real life, filters it through classical comedies from Goldsmith to Shakespeare and infuses it with all the energy of a great Bollywood musical. Come and join Katrina, our headstrong heroine, as she returns to...

  • Eunice struggles to fit in. When she joins a wealthy family as their housekeeper the very reason for her awkwardness, long hidden, leads to a terrible tale of murder in cold blood - on Valentine’s Day. Ruth Rendell’s brilliant plot unravels a lifetime of deceit which, when revealed, brings a shocking  revelation almost as grizzly as murder itself. The star...

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue