Mothers Who Make

Mothers Who Make

September 2018
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Become a Member

Mothers Who Make is a growing national initiative aimed at supporting mothers who are artists & makers, in any discipline and at any stage of their personal or professional making. It was started by Matilda Leyser (Improbable Theatre) in London in 2014 and has rapidly spread across the country.

Every kind of maker is welcome- professional and/or passionate – writers, painters, performers, musicians, bakers, crafters, architects, historians ….

Every kind of mother is welcome- biological, adoptive, step, surrogate, foster, grand, great grand, to be ….

The monthly sessions aim to give creative mothers the chance to explore their practice with their children present, valuing equally their dual roles of mother and artist.  We want as many people as possible to be part of the unfolding MWM conversations. Our reach is across generations and art forms - we are thrilled by the plurality of voices that are part of this discussion.  In other groups professional connections have been formed and led to the beginning of joint projects between participants – so it’s a great way to meet and collaborate with other mothers from different creative backgrounds.

You are invited to join this inspiring and growing initiative. Please feel free to bring along your children, of any age, whether they are inside you, beside you or running around the room. But equally just bring yourself.

MWM is facilitated by a collective of local mother – makers including Jackie Singer.

Click here to find out more about Mothers Who Make.

Book Tickets

Location: Top Room, Oxford Playhouse

Cost: £5

Dates:

12.30pm to 2.30pm Tuesday 16th October

12.30pm to 2.30pm Tuesday 13th November

Email learning@oxfordplayhouse.com to find out more or book your place.

Please note the Top Room is not accessible in a wheelchair.

People Who Booked Mothers Who Make Also Booked For...

  • Spotlight: September to November

    Thu 19 Sep, Thu 3 Oct & Thu 14 Nov

    Spotlight is for anyone aged 50 or over with an interest in theatre. Each session is a friendly and relaxed lunchtime meet-up to socialise and talk all things theatre. Spotlight is led by a member of OP staff, joined by a guest to talk more about their role in the current show, or themes and issues explored in this season’s productions. Enjoy interesting c...

  • 40+ Acting Company Sept-Nov

    Thu 19 Sep, Thu 26 Sep, Thu 3 Oct, Thu 17 Oct, Thu 24 Oct, Thu 7 & Thu 14 Nov

    This is a company for anyone aged 40 or over with an enthusiasm to play and explore text on your feet. During these sessions you will work through technical exercises to develop your performance skills and explore different genres of theatre, looking at play extracts, discussing themes and characters and working through monologues and duologues.

  • Hey Diddle Diddle

    Mon 23 Sep, Mon 30 Sep, Mon 7 Oct, Mon 14 Oct, Mon 21 Oct, Mon 28 Oct, Mon 4 Nov, Mon 11 Nov, Mon 18 Nov, Mon 13 Jan , Mon 20 Jan , Mon 27 Jan , Mon 3 Feb , Mon 10 Feb , Mon 17 Feb , Mon 24 Feb , Mon 2 , Mon 9 , Mon 16 , Mon 23 & Mon 30 Mar 2020

    Have you discovered the perfect fun, friendly and musical way to start the week for you and your child? Hey Diddle Diddle is a sing-a-long and play sessions held every Monday for pre-school children and their grown-ups. With free tea and coffee plus a chance to stay and play and meet other parents and grandparents too, Hey Diddle Diddle makes for a greatly enjoyable Monday morning....

We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue